If you are considering divorce, find a local Arkansas divorce attorney to find out more about filing for divorce. Working through the Arkansas divorce process alone may cause you to miss filing important paperwork, but by speaking with a local Arkansas divorce lawyer, you can work to protect the rights of you and your family. Learn more about the Arkansas divorce process and find an Arkansas divorce lawyer in your area.
Total Divorce can help you connect with an Arkansas divorce attorney. Set up a preliminary consultation to discuss your Arkansas divorce options today. Call at 877-349-1310 or fill out a divorce case review form to find a local Arkansas divorce attorney.
Do you know what Arkansas divorce law means to you? Arkansas divorce can be complicated, but with the help of an Arkansas divorce lawyer, you can make sure you are taking all the right steps when filing for divorce.
Grounds for Arkansas Divorce: Arkansas divorce courts accept both fault and no fault ground for divorce. The courts may enter a no fault order of divorce if you and your spouse have lived separate for 18 months without cohabitation. Arkansas fault grounds for divorce include:
Arkansas Divorce Residency Requirements: To file for divorce in Arkansas, the petitioning spouse needs to be a resident of the state for at least 60 days before filing of the petition and at must reside there for at least three months before entry of the decree.
Arkansas Property Division: The state of Arkansas is an equitable distribution state, but Arkansas divorce law creates a presumption in favor of equal division of property. If equal division is deemed to be "inequitable," the courts consider many factors, such as
Divorce Waiting Periods in Arkansas: Before you can file for divorce on no fault grounds, the spouses must have lived apart for 18 months. After the petition has been filed, there is a 30 day waiting period. There is not a waiting period to remarry after the divorce decree has been finalized.
Arkansas Child Custody: Arkansas divorce courts act in the best interest of the child when determining child custody. The courts may take into consideration the preferences of the child if he or she is old enough to make such decisions--there is no specific age at which the wishes of the child should be taken into account.
Child Support in Arkansas: The Arkansas child support guidelines are based on the income of the paying spouse and a table provides the specific amount of support based on the payer's weekly income and the number of children to support. If the court determines that there is reason to deviate from the child support guidelines, it may consider such factors as
Note that Arkansas divorce law recognizes covenant marriage, a more strictly binding form of marriage. For those who have entered into a covenant marriage, the grounds required for dissolution are different, and waiting periods and pre-filing requirements are typically more stringent as well.
Speak with a local Arkansas divorce lawyer to learn more about how the details of divorce laws in your state may affect you and your family. An Arkansas divorce attorney can help you work through the Arkansas divorce process. To connect with a divorce lawyer in your area today, fill out the form below or give us a call at 877-349-1310.
The above synopsis of Arkansas divorce laws is by no means all-inclusive and has been adapted from applicable state laws. These laws may have changed since our last update and there may be additional laws that apply in your situation. For the latest information on these divorce laws, please contact a local divorce lawyer in your area.