Facing Divorce? See what steps you can take to protect what's yours.
Divorce Home » Divorce Lawyers » Connecticut

Connecticut Divorce

A local Connecticut divorce lawyer can help explain Connecticut divorce law. Find out how your Connecticut divorce will be affected by current state divorce laws and make sure you and your family are protected with the help of a Connecticut divorce attorney. Get help throughout the divorce process by speaking with a Connecticut divorce attorney near you today.

Total Divorce will connect you with a Connecticut divorce lawyer to set up a preliminary consultation. Call 877-349-1310 or fill out a Connecticut divorce case review form to speak with a local Connecticut divorce lawyer today. Learn more about state divorce laws and get legal advice throughout the Connecticut divorce process.

Overview of Connecticut Divorce Law

Find out more about Connecticut divorce law. Once you have learned more about the divorce process in your state, speak with a local Connecticut divorce attorney to learn how the laws may affect your divorce.

Connecticut Grounds for Divorce: In Connecticut divorce, you can file on fault or no fault grounds. No fault grounds include that the marriage is irretrievably broken and/or the parties have lived separately for 18 months because of incompatibility. Fault based grounds may include:

  • Adultery
  • Fraud
  • Willful desertion for one year
  • Absence for seven years
  • Habitual intemperance
  • Mental or verbal intolerable cruelty
  • Imprisonment for more than one year
  • Confinement in a hospital or institution for mental illness lasting at least five years

Connecticut Divorce Residency Requirement: The Connecticut divorce court will allow you to file for divorce if:

  • One of the parties has been a resident of the state for at least one year
  • One of the parties lived in Connecticut at the time of the marriage and has returned to the state with the intention of staying
  • The cause for the divorce happened after one of the parties moved to the state

Property Division in Connecticut: The state of Connecticut is a equitable distribution state, so the divorce courts have the power to assign either spouse any or all of the martial property. The courts in Connecticut decided what is fair. When dividing property, the courts consider:

  • Length of marriage
  • Causes of the divorce
  • Age, health, station, occupation and sources of income for each spouse
  • Each spouse's vocational skills and employability
  • Marital estate
  • Liabilities
  • Special needs of either spouse
  • Future earning capacity
  • Possible acquisition of capital assets or income in the future

Connecticut Divorce Waiting Periods: To file for a Connecticut divorce, you must wait 18 months. After the divorce petition has been filed, there is a 90 day waiting period from the return date before the divorce can be finalized. Connecticut divorce laws don't require either spouse to wait before remarrying once the decree is final.

Child Custody in Connecticut: The Connecticut divorce courts are guided by what is in the best interest of the child. The child's wishes are considered if the child is mature enough to make an intelligent preference. Other considerations for the child's best interest include: the mental and physical needs of all parties involved, the child's interaction with siblings, and the ability of the parents to be actively involved in the child's life. When making the initial child custody order, the divorce court may consider the causes for the divorce if those affect the best interests of the child and the completion of the parenting education program.

Connecticut Child Support: Either parent may be ordered to pay child support and provide health insurance. There are official child support guidelines set by the state that presumed correct unless the amount is proven to be inappropriate for the circumstances. Child support in Connecticut divorce is determined by estimating the support the child would have received if the family had stayed together. The amount is estimated and divided proportionally by the parent's income. If the guidelines need to be altered, the divorce courts will consider:

  • Financial resources of the child
  • Age, health and station of the parents
  • Each parent's occupation, earning capacity, vocational skills, employability and source of income
  • Age and health of the child
  • Child's occupation, vocational skills and employability
  • Needs of the child
  • Financial means of the parents

Divorce laws in Connecticut continue to change, so find a Connecticut divorce attorney in your area to learn about how new legislation in your state may affect you. With the help of a local Connecticut divorce attorney, you can get advice on how to handle your divorce. Connect today by filling out the below form or calling 877-349-1310 to set up a consultation.

The above synopsis of Connecticut divorce laws is by no means all-inclusive and has been adapted from applicable state laws. These laws may have changed since our last update and there may be additional laws that apply in your situation. For the latest information on these divorce laws, please contact a local divorce lawyer in your area.

Case Evaluation