Facing Divorce? See what steps you can take to protect what's yours.
Divorce Home » Filing for Divorce » Requirements

Waiting Period After Filing for Divorce

After filing for divorce, there may be a waiting period before the divorce becomes final and people receive the divorce decree. The following table provides the waiting period for a divorce decree for all 50 states.

Not all states have a required waiting period after divorce; the time before your divorce decree is final may simply be based on how long it takes for the divorce court to hear the case.

If you have any more questions about the divorce laws in your state concerning the divorce waiting periods or remarriage waiting periods, speak to a local divorce lawyer.

Fill out our divorce case review form or call 877-349-1310. Contact with a local divorce lawyer and set up a preliminary consultation today.

Waiting Period for the Final Divorce Decree

The following are the waiting periods for the final divorce decree in each state as of April, 2009:

Waiting Period for Final Divorce Decree
Waiting Period after Filing for Divorce
Alabama 30 days
Alaska 30 days
Arizona 60 days
Arkansas 3 months
California 6 months
Colorado 90 days
Connecticut 90 days from return date
Delaware 30 days
District of Columbia 30 days
Florida No statutory requirement
Georgia No statutory requirement
Hawaii No statutory requirement
Idaho 20 days
Illinois No statutory requirement
Indiana 60 days
Iowa 90 days
Kansas 60 days
Kentucky 60 days
Louisiana 6 months w/o children; 1 year w/ children
Maine 60 days
Maryland 30 days
Massachusetts 30 days + 90 days for no fault divorce
6 months + 90 days in fault divorce
Michigan 60 days
Minnesota 30 days
Mississippi 60 days
Missouri 30 days
Montana 20 days
Nebraska 60 days
Nevada No statutory requirement
New Hampshire No statutory requirement
New Jersey Varies on the judicial management track to which the divorce is assigned
New Mexico No statutory requirement
New York 1 year
North Carolina 30 days
North Dakota No statutory requirement
Ohio 30 to 90 days
Oklahoma 10 days w/o children; 90 days w/ children
Oregon 90 days
Pennsylvania at least 90 days
Rhode Island 60 days
South Carolina 90 days
South Dakota 60 days
Tennessee 60 days w/o children; 90 days w/ children
Texas 60 days
Utah 90 days, unless the education class for divorcing parents is completed
Vermont 20 days
Virginia 2-3 months for uncontested divorce
18 months for contested divorce
Washington 90 days
West Virginia 20 days
Wisconsin 120 days
Wyoming 20 days

The waiting periods after filing for divorce may vary depending on the circumstances of the case and the above summary is not intended to serve as legal advice. Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on divorce waiting periods, speak to a local divorce lawyer in your state.