Facing Divorce? See what steps you can take to protect what's yours.
Divorce Home » Filing for Divorce » Requirements

Remarriage Waiting Periods

How Soon After a Divorce Can You Get Remarried?

Most states don't require a remarriage waiting period after getting a divorce, but some allow a judge to create one in certain cases. If you marry during this time, the new marriage would generally be voidable, meaning either party to the new marriage could ask to have the marriage declared invalid.

Some states require remarriage waiting periods during which both parties may appeal the divorce decree.

If you have any more questions about filing for divorce or remarrying after divorce, speak to a divorce lawyer. Fill out our divorce case review form and we'll help you get in touch with one of our sponsoring divorce lawyers.

When Can You Remarry after Divorce?

The following are the remarriage waiting periods after divorce for each state. (Updated September, 2011)

Talk to an attorney and double check that 1) these laws apply to you, and 2) these requirements have not changed.

Remarriage Waiting Period Waiting Period after Final Decree
Alabama 60 days
Alaska No requirement
Arizona No requirement
Arkansas No requirement
California No requirement
Colorado No requirement
Connecticut No requirement
Delaware No requirement
District of Columbia No requirement
Florida No requirement
Georgia No requirement
Hawaii No requirement
Idaho No requirement
Illinois No requirement
Indiana No requirement
Iowa No requirement
Kansas 30 days
Kentucky No requirement
Louisiana No requirement
Maine No requirement
Maryland No requirement
Massachusetts No requirement
Michigan No requirement
Minnesota No requirement
Mississippi No requirement
Missouri No requirement
Montana No requirement
Nebraska 6 months
Nevada No requirement
New Hampshire No requirement
New Jersey No requirement
New Mexico No requirement
New York No requirement
North Carolina No requirement
North Dakota No requirement
Ohio No requirement
Oklahoma 6 months
Oregon No requirement
Pennsylvania No requirement
Rhode Island No requirement
South Carolina No requirement
South Dakota No requirement
Tennessee No requirement
Texas 30 days
Utah No requirement
Vermont No requirement
Virginia No requirement
Washington No requirement
West Virginia No requirement
Wisconsin 6 months
Wyoming No requirement

The remarriage waiting periods may vary depending on the circumstances of the divorce case and the above summary is not intended to serve as legal advice. Laws may have changed since our last update. For the latest information on remarriage waiting periods, speak to a local divorce lawyer in your state.

Related Divorce News and Information