Facing Divorce? See what steps you can take to protect what's yours.
Divorce Home » Divorce Laws in Your State » Arkansas

Arkansas Divorce Waiting Periods

During the divorce process, most states have divorce waiting periods that couples must recognize. These designated amounts of time help ensure that the couple wants a divorce and reconciliation isn't possible.

Understand divorce laws and filing divorce with a divorce attorney.

Divorce waiting periods may happen before of after the divorce petition is filed in court. State divorce laws may also include a remarriage waiting period.

Before filing for divorce in Arkansas, there is a waiting period of 18 months. The petitioner also needs to meet the Arkansas residency requirement.

Once the divorce petition has been filed, Arkansas divorce law requires the couple wait 30 days to 3 months before the divorce is finalized. The divorce waiting periods ranges, depending on the circumstances of your divorce.

After the divorce petition has been finalized, Arkansas divorce law doesn't require either spouse to recognize a waiting period before remarrying.

Arkansas divorce waiting periods can vary, depending on particular situations during the divorce process. A local Arkansas divorce lawyer can explain what issues in your divorce may affect waiting periods you have to follow.

Connect with an Arkansas divorce lawyer near you to learn about other state requirements you will need to meet. Call 877-349-1310 or fill out an Arkansas divorce case review form.

Case Evaluation

The above synopsis of Arkansas divorce laws is by no means all-inclusive and has been adapted from applicable state laws. These laws may have changed since our last update and there may be additional laws that apply in your situation. For the latest information on these divorce laws, please contact a local Arkansas divorce attorney in your area.

Arkansas divorce laws were last updated May 2009.

Note: Keep in mind that all divorce laws are complex. If you need legal divorce advice or want to fully understand how these laws affect you, please speak with a local divorce attorney.