Facing Divorce? See what steps you can take to protect what's yours.
Divorce Home » Divorce Laws in Your State » Florida

Florida Child Support

When a divorce or separation happens, the Florida divorce system may order either parent to pay child support payments. The amount and schedule of payments will depend on the circumstances of the divorce and the child's needs.

Typically, Florida child support is calculated by estimating the support the child would have received in the family would have stayed together. That estimated amount is then divided proportionally according to each parent's incomes.

Learn how to file for divorce and what your child support payment/award may be.

Talk to a Florida divorce lawyer now:

How Florida Child Support May Be Calculated:

Florida divorce courts usually use a worksheet to estimate each parent's income with past pay stubs or W-2s to determine the amount of the Florida child support.

Specific child support guidelines are defined in the Florida Statutes Annotated, but the Florida divorce court does consider other child support factors that may alter the guidelines, including:

  • Extraordinary medical, psychological, educational or dental expenses
  • Child's independent income
  • If the custodial parent is receiving child support and Florida maintenance
  • Seasonal variations in the parent's income or expenses
  • Age of the child since typically older children have greater needs
  • Special needs of the family
  • Terms of joint child custody
  • All assets of the parents and child
  • Impact of any IRS Dependency Exemption
  • Others relevant issues that will make child support orders equal

Health and Life Insurance in Florida Child Custody Cases

The Florida divorce court may include which parent covers heath and life insurance in the Florida child support order. The divorce court may also order the child support be paid through a state depository.

If it has been three years since the existing Florida child support order was made, the Florida divorce court can be petitioned to modify child support.

To petition the divorce courts, the difference between the current support payments and the proposed support payments must be at least 10 percent or $25 a month - whichever amount is greater. This is calculated using current information and statutory guidelines.

If there have been a significant change in circumstances, it is possible to petition the Florida divorce court before three years have passed to modify child support.

To see how the circumstances of your divorce may affect how much child support you pay or receive, speak with a local divorce lawyer today.

The above synopsis of Florida divorce laws is not all-inclusive and has been adapted from applicable state laws. These laws may have changed since our last update and there may be additional laws that apply to you. To get the most up-top-date information, contact a local Florida divorce attorney in your area by calling 877-349-1310.

Florida divorce laws were last updated September, 2011.

Note:Keep in mind that all divorce laws are complex. If you need legal divorce advice or want to fully understand how these laws affect you, please speak with a local divorce attorney.